After all these years I still play them quite regularly; I don't care about a single album that followed. Rogn ValdrNov 14, Location: wales. Making Movies Well titled, widescreen epic album.

Love Over Gold More intimate yet still epic set. One of the great debuts. Brothers In Arms Fine album, if a tad more commercial than previously. Communique Strong second effort. Bit more subtle than the debut. On Every Street Plenty to enjoy here but the sense that MK is getting fed up with being a rock star is palpable. Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota. It takes their debut and adds refinement that points to more excellence to come Follow Me Home's sonic vibe closes this great album with grace, and prompts me to want more Gramps TomNov 14, He's sayin' nothin' at all" Knopfler was fire KipB and Zeki like this.

Location: Ireland. Been years since I tried this album. It didn't grab me at the time. When asked what the song was about, lead singer Mark Knopfler said that he was watching TV one day, and there was a lady writer on the TV, and that's basically where the idea for the song came from. Because the song says the writer is "talking about the Virgin Mary", some have speculated that the writer in question is Marina Warnera view shared by Warner herself.

Billboard described the song as a "hypnotic rocker" with "sizzling instrumentation" and "distinctive vocals. Look, the only way you'll want this is Lady Writer - Dire Straits - Communiqué (Cassette you've got a more money than sense, and b Album) memory like a sieve. This s single —related article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Barry Beckett Jerry Wexler. Help Learn to edit Community portal Recent changes Upload file.

Download as PDF Printable version. Compass Point StudiosNassau, Bahamas. Roots rock. Vertigo Warner Bros. Barry BeckettJerry Wexler. Dire Straits Making Movies Christgau's Record Guide. B- [5]. The Rolling Stone Album Guide. MusicBrainz release group. Location: Beautiful San Francisco, man.

Location: England. I picked up this album on vinyl recently from the bargain section of a second hand record shop in the UK. I hadn't heard it probably for more Lady Writer - Dire Straits - Communiqué (Cassette 15 years and was surprised how well I knew some of the album.

I personally don't like Angel of Mercy or his choice of language at the beginning of the title track -however I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. I don't like Lady Writer - Dire Straits - Communiqué (Cassette first album though not the last time I heard it all the way through - again, some time ago. Nice sound on this album too. Mike the FishJul 17, I have Love Over Gold and think it's fantastic. This thread gives me more motivation to check out this album.

SecondHandNewsJul 17, Location: France. Mr SamJul 17, Jonboy and Fullbug like this. Location: Maryland, U. Chris SchoenJul 17, Thursday 8 July Friday 9 July Saturday 10 July Sunday 11 July Monday 12 July Tuesday 13 July Wednesday 14 July Thursday 15 July Friday 16 July Album) 17 July Sunday 18 July Monday 19 July Tuesday 20 July Wednesday 21 July Thursday 22 July Friday 23 July Saturday 24 July Sunday 25 July Monday 26 July Tuesday 27 July Wednesday 28 July Thursday 29 July Friday 30 July Saturday 31 July Sunday 1 August Monday 2 August Tuesday 3 August Wednesday 4 August Thursday 5 August Friday 6 August Saturday 7 August Sunday 8 August Monday 9 August Tuesday 10 August Wednesday 11 August Thursday 12 August Friday 13 August Saturday 14 August Sunday 15 August Monday 16 August Tuesday 17 August Wednesday 18 August Thursday 19 August

Do You Really Want To Hurt Me - Various - Superverano (CD), I Dont Want To Talk About It - Rod Stewart - Tom Trauberts Blues (Waltzing Matilda) (CD), Frühlingslied - James Last - Schließ Die Augen - Laß Dich Verwöhnen (Cassette), I Cant Stop Loving You - Tom Jones - The Tiger (CD), Tema Della Profezia - Mariposa (3) - Quanti Sedani Lasciati Ai Cani (CD, Album), (Shake Shake Shake) Shake Your Booty - KC & The Sunshine Band - The Album (CD), Varjot - Radien - Maa (Vinyl), M. Walking On The Water - Lovemachine (CD), Mr. Wendal - Arrested Development - Unplugged (CD, Album), In My Life - George Harrison - What Is Life (CD, Album), Imagination, Opus 1 - Hiroshi Fukumura Quintet* - Morning Flight (Vinyl, LP, Album)

9 thoughts on “Lady Writer - Dire Straits - Communiqué (Cassette, Album)

  1. Cream cassette shell with white paper labels, black print. Catalogue number on the spine, - on the cassette labels. Recorded December , Compass Point Studio, Nassau, Bahamas.

  2. Jerry Wexler. Dire Straits singles chronology. " Sultans of Swing ". () " Lady Writer ". () " Romeo and Juliet ". () " Lady Writer " is a song by Dire Straits, which appears on the band's second album Communiqué.Label: Vertigo.

  3. Gran pezzo dei Dire Straits unico singolo estratto dell'album "Communiqué" copyright WMG - UMG.

  4. Nov 14,  · Nov 14,  · 2- Comuniqué (Sounds so great, the drums are bassy and deep, very underrated album, unfortunately) 3- Dire Straits (Sounds great and has great songs, Sultans of Swing is there to prove it) 4- Making Movies (I know this is many people's favorite, and it is good, but it doesn't catch me like the other tree).

  5. Jul 17,  · Jul 17,  · I love this album. The first two from Straits in particular but Communique takes it by a nose. That laid-back summery feel. When its a hot day i've been known to play this and Ocean Boulevard by Clapton, back to back. In fact I must put them together as a 2for1 on a CD/R. Every track is a winner.

  6. Verified Purchase. When 'Communique' was being recorded, Dire Straits' first, self-titled album was just becoming noticed world-wide. Instead of recording in London in February, on a tight budget, as they had with their first album, Dire Straits found themselves in the Bahamas in December with a different production team/5().

  7. Dire Straits chose the 2nd option, which personally I am grateful for, as part of the appeal of Communiqué is that whilst it contains musical signatures of the debut, it is a less obviously commercial album than its predecessor. Dire Straits in my view were at their best when they were releasing material that was less commercial/5().

  8. "Lady Writer" is a rock song and single by Dire Straits. It appears on the band's second album Communiqué. When asked what the song was about, Knopfler said that he was watching TV one day, and there was a lady writer on the TV, and that's basically where the idea for the song came from.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *